Gluten Free Healthy Chocolate PB Banana Bars

Chocolate PB Bars

So my exams are going on right now, and one thing I find myself doing a lot during exams is eating. It sort of makes the examination process more pleasant? (Thats my highly questionable logic).
So sick and tired of (a) not being able to find anything nice to eat during said exams (and opening my fridge constantly expecting some nice food to magically appear each time I open the fridge), and (b) eating something unhealthy and something I don’t necessarily like, I decided to finally take control of my life, and make some dessert that actually tastes good and is healthy.

Cue these bars. I found the recipe linked below, and started thinking of ways to make these already pretty healthy bars even more healthier. One change I made was to swap out some of the sugar for a banana, as that both reduced the need for a sweetener, and adds flavor to these bars as well. Plus chocolate, bananas and peanut butter are a pretty iconic flavor combo. And so I made these bars, and they taste so good! Apart from being delicious, the oats and the banana in the bars also provide the energy boost I so desperately need during exams, or say an early Monday morning.

Recipe loosely adapted from: http://chocolatecoveredkatie.com/2016/09/26/no-bake-bars-chocolate-oatmeal/

Ingredients:
1/2 cup peanut butter (creamy or crunchy)
1/4 cup coconut oil
3 tablespoons brown sugar
165 grams dark chocolate (I used 70%)
Pinch of salt
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 large banana (either chopped into small pieces, or mashed)
2 cups gluten free oats

Procedure:
Line a 8″ or 9″ square baking pan with parchment paper.

In a small saucepan, mix the peanut butter, coconut oil, brown sugar and dark chocolate together. Place on low heat, and stir with a wooden spoon until mostly smooth (if you used crunchy peanut butter, there will be peanut pieces). Add the salt and vanilla extract.

Take the saucepan off the heat. Add the chopped/mash bananas and stir well. Add the oats, half cup at a time, stirring well each time.

Add the mixture to the prepared pan, and press down with the back of the spoon. Place in the freezer until firm, and then cut into pieces. Store in the fridge, and then enjoy!

Chocolate PB Banana Bars

Leave a Reply

